No market today

14th September 2019

We are disappointed to learn that the market isn’t on today. We need to come up with a new plan.

We head out to get breakfast and take the scenic route through downtown Anchorage. The place we thought we could have breakfast is really busy and there is no parking to be had. We check the Satnav and opt for a previous destination, IHOP is where we end up.

After breakfast we head to Earthquake Park. There are some great views and some informative boards. The Earthquake on 27th March 1964 was huge and affected a lot of this part of Alaska. Valdez was flattened and rather than rebuild they moved 4 miles up the coast.

We drive around Lake Spenard which has Sea Planes all around the edge. Planes are taking off and landing all the time.

We find Pipers Sports Bar and stop for a drink and a chance to come up with the next destination.

I am flummoxed by the automatic soap dispenser, I wave my hand under, nothing, I wave under the next one, the first one dispenses onto the floor. I try to catch it and the second one drops soap onto the counter. When I try to mop it up I am with it enough to think about whether my head will set it going while mopping the floor, phew!

We head to Potters Marsh, it is a glorious day. The temperature is in the mid 60’s. Mum W and I enjoy the sunshine, while Simon and Mum B take a walk along the board walk through the marshes, looking for birds.

It is 5ish, so we start thinking about food. We head north towards Eagle River. There is an Arbys, Taco Bell, Subway but this is not what we are looking for. We drive around and find nothing, so we decide to go back to Arbys. It’s a fast food burger place, not what we are after. A look at the Satnav shows Bear Mountain Grill, we U turn to find it, its closed. So we U turn again for Taco Bell.

The menu is confusing and we take a long time in front of the touch screen choosing.

Simon collects the order and comes over with a tray with not a lot on it. Mum W thinks it is just for him and is shocked to learn it is for everyone.

Taco Bell is not a good choice, everyone is disappointed with their choices. The drink I order is out of stock, so I choose again. That is when we notice that we don’t have everything we ordered on the tray. We are offered a voucher for a free Taco with our next order…we won’t be going back to Taco Bell.

To cheer ourselves up and to look for some Apple Cinnamon Jelly to take home we stop in Carrs. We all end up with arms full of goodies.

We are hoping for a chance to see the Northern Lights, so we head up a mountain looking for a good viewpoint. I spot the sunset in the wing mirror so we do a U turn to get back to the lay by.

It is beautiful. Simon gets some great shots, my phone decides to throw a wobbly and won’t focus.

I switch it off and on again.

We return to finding somewhere for the Northern lights and wait for darkness. Simon and Mum B stand outside the car, I fall asleep inside. When I wake about an hour or so after we park there is still no sign of anything interesting. We give up and head back to the Hotel.

Leave a comment